10 Jan. Shit, Now What? 

We sat on the bed in silence for what seemed like forever, but was probably just a minute or two, staring at this plastic stick on my hand. “It’s a pretty faint line” but it was still another line. 

We decided our best course of action was to go to the medical professionals and confirm I was in fact up the duff which is exactly what we did the next day. 

Mr Doctor gave me a cup to expel my bladder into and started up some friendly chat while he pulled out the PH test sticks.  “You are definitely pregnant! Is this exciting news or are we not quite sure?”. Without even looking at each other we both commented we were not quite sure. This was totally unplanned and unexpected. 

I informed the doctor of my medical history and he didn’t seem shocked nor surprised. We were told that many women with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome had no trouble conceiving while an equal amount couldn’t at all. Some it would take years, others only months. It was just one of those things. No one could really pick how it would or could happen. 

Seeing as we did not know what our next step would be the doctor gave us a rundown on our options: 

  1. We keep the baby, become parents, live happily ever after.
  2. We abort. Terminate the pregnancy, eventually live on like nothing ever happened. 
  3. Probably the trickiest but still worth mentioning; we adopt the baby out to a loving family. 

We left our appointment that day with a few things(I like bullet points, get used to it):

  • A prescription for folic acid and iodine pills which I was told to take straight away regardless of my decision. Prenatal vitamins are extremely important to start as early on in a pregnancy as possible and should not be neglected. They help prevent things like; neural tube birth defects which affect the brain and spinal cord. 
  • A referral letter for an ultrasound scan to determine how far along I actually was in my pregnancy. Based on my last period which wasn’t really too much of a help seeing as they were so irregular we worked out I was about 6 weeks pregnant. 
  • Another referral docket for blood tests to be run to make sure I was A-OK health wise. No nasty undiagnosed diseases such as HIV etc. 
  • Last but not least, a pamphlet on the termination clinic in Christchurch. 

I don’t even remember how the rest of that day went. I think we probably just kind of ignored the events of the morning and went about our every day life. At this point BF was back at work, which was at home anyway so doesn’t really count and I still had a week of Christmas holidays left. Really, for me personally this was kind of the best time of the year for this to happen. No one could see me cry. 

Leave a Reply

